The rules governing contractors differ from state to state, but a Charlotte contractor license defense attorney can help you stay eligible for work in the Tar Heel State. Contractors in North Carolina need a contractor’s license to work on a project valued in excess of $30,000. This license can be acquired from the North Carolina Licensing Board. Failure to comply with this law can result in a Class 2 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. However, the result of working without a license can plague your firm’s reputation for much longer than 60 days, so it’s important to consult a Charlotte contractor license defense attorney immediately to address your concerns about licensing.
The Superior Charlotte Contractor License Defense Lawyer
At Cotney Construction Law, our dedicated team of construction law experts have been representing the construction industry with thorough legal counsel and aggressive representation since 1999. Our carefully curated portfolio of services ensures top tier coverage whether you’re facing a licensing dispute or applying for a license renewal. When your license becomes expired or revoked, our team can help you navigate the confusing legal processes in place to reissue your license. We can also help you retain the right licensing for your current project or attain the correct licensing for a new project (i.e. building license vs. residential license).
Revocation of License, Charges of Fraud, Negligence, and Incompetence
The North Carolina Licensing Board maintains the power to refuse to issue, renew, or revoke a contractor’s license. They can also suspend a contractor for working without the proper licensing or restrict a certificate of license, issue a reprimand, or take disciplinary action against a general contractor who is found guilty of fraud or deceit in obtaining licensing. Gross negligence, incompetence, and misconduct can also result in revocation of a contractor’s license and suspension from any future involvement with construction in the State of North Carolina.
When you find yourself facing a licensing issue, a Charlotte contractor license defense lawyer can help reaffirm your career in construction by helping you avoid revocation of your license. Our team can help you maintain compliance by focusing on the latest laws and regulations. These include:
- Detailed records, including the date and nature of each complaint, will be maintained for all licensees that receive complaints.
- Five or more members of the Board must vote in favor of a license re-issuance in order for a person, firm, or corporation to have their license reissued after a revocation.
- Violating the licensing laws established by the Board can result in a fine up to $5,000.
If you are in need of a professional construction law firm, please submit our contact request form for more information.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.