Stop-Work Orders can seriously hinder a business financially and throw a project off schedule if not handled properly. This is why we recommend getting legal counsel if you receive a written notice from the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation. Navigating a Stop-Work Order will require responding quickly to the order, getting your company in compliance, and understanding how to get the order released and fines mitigated. The first part of this article gives insight into violations and penalties.
Responding to a Stop Work Order
As Florida construction attorneys, we understand that time is of the essence when it comes to construction operations. You may be required to submit business records to the department for penalty calculation purposes within 10 days after receiving a request from the department. If you want to ensure you don’t lose unnecessary money or derail your project, you need to act fast.
How to Get it Released
Employers that come into compliance and pay their penalties will qualify for a release. An employer that comes into compliance and agrees to pay $1000 as a down payment and sets up a payment schedule with the department, may be eligible for a conditional release as long as the employer pays the remaining penalty amount within 28 days. Failure to do so will reinstate the Stop-Work Order.
Contact a Construction Lawyer
Working with an experienced Florida construction attorney that is familiar with the statutes that govern Florida construction is recommended. An attorney can help you get a Stop-Work Order released fast with minimum to no penalties. Avoid being known as an employer that places the public’s health, safety, and welfare on the line and get coverage today.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.