If you are dealing with a legal issue involving workers’ compensation, you will need an experienced workers’ comp defense attorney in Florida to defend your business.
Sometimes the smallest mistakes you may have made when first starting your business can come back to haunt you. Even if you did not know all of the laws governing workers’ compensation insurance, this is not an excuse in the eyes of the State of Florida. Workers’ compensation issues should not be taken lightly, as they have the potential to cost your company thousands or, worst case scenario, result in jail time.
Types of Violations
Workers’ compensation law is complex and there are numerous ways that things can go wrong. Here are some of the common violations we have defended:
- Not securing workers’ compensation insurance
- Not reporting employee injuries to your insurance provider
- Misclassifying employees
- Falsely listing employees as independent contractors
- Deducting coverage premiums from your employees’ pay
- Falsifying insurance coverage information
- Retaliating against an employee who files a claim
- Violating a Stop Work Order
Have you been charged with any of the above? Don’t wait for things to get worse. Working with a workers’ comp defense lawyer in Florida can save your reputation, business, and bottom line.
If you are in violation of a law regarding workers’ compensation, don’t expect a slap on the wrist. This is a topic the State takes seriously, and it penalizes businesses accordingly.
Noncompliance can be punished with fines that range from one thousand dollars to millions of dollars, depending on the case. Work stoppage fees begin at $1,000 per day. They can also include penalties totaling up to two times what you would have paid for your business’s insurance premium for all uncovered periods during the past two years.
If you have listed someone as an independent contractor and the State determines that they should have legally been considered an employee, you will be liable for up to $5,000 per falsely categorized employee.
Make sure to keep precise records of everything because they will be critical to your case.
Workers’ Comp Defense Lawyers in Florida
When it comes to any legal matter, the best thing you can do is be proactive. It is imperative to hire an experienced workers’ comp defense attorney in Florida who will guide your decision-making processes and defend your business. You only have 21 days to respond to a penalty that you and your attorney feel is harsh or invalid, so time is of the essence.
If you would like to speak with a workers’ comp defense lawyer in Florida, please contact us today.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.